Doing Battle Against the Mighty Malware

Since a week or two ago, I have been getting pummeled with malware. The stupid thing acts like virus software while simultaneously closing mine. We tried several fixes, including system restore, but the bastard has corrupted my restore points. It is, apparently, Russian, which I guess figures in some existential way I am not entirely clear on yet. But after Cam and I spent all morning – and most of the afternoon – working laboriously, we appear to FINALLY be winning the battle. Which is good, because next month I have to start paying back my loans, and getting a new laptop would interfere with that.

I’ve had a hard weekend since Friday. This whole “romance” issue really freaked me out, but I’m finally feeling better about it. It took a while, but I started characterizing it like Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Collins; yes he was disgusting, embarrassing and unattractive – but she handled it with style, grace, and verve. Surely I can do the same!

To cheer myself up a bit, I went to Target yesterday. Returned some stuff I didn’t want and got a much-needed new hairdryer. Tried to get Moose Munch for Hanna, but either they were out, or the stupid fat women in the candy aisle blocked it with their satellite like mass (I know, I know, I shouldn’t be so mean…..But they took up the whole aisle and wouldn’t move at all!). So instead I went and got myself my first real Wii game! Because Tales of Symphonia 2 doesn’t count. I was torn between Sonic Colors and Kirby’s Epic Yarn, and since Hanna hasn’t played this Kirby, and I don’t really have a history with Sonic, I decided, “What the heck!” and got KEY.

I was going to write up my thoughts on it last night, but I had a cocktail while my parents were out, and since I have NO drinking constitution, there went any coherent sentences from me for the night. I think I’ll just wait anyway, as I’m about 45% of the way through. Let me just say this: it’s awesome. If you want an old school Nintendo game that’s fun, get it. I spent all day playing it, and boy did it cheer me up.

Chris and I also had fun planning our unholy Pokemon/Symphonia crossover, with some of the most unholy/awesome crack pairings EVER. I am sure someday I will have more to say on that. Today I haven’t gotten to do much of that with him OR play Kirby, as when I wasn’t doing battle against the machine, I was cleaning my bathroom. It’s needed to happen for…..a while. We may need to call a rooter company, as my bathtub refuses to drain. We’ve done Draino I don’t know how many times, but after fifteen minutes, the water is still up to my calves. So we’ve poured a whole bottle of the stuff down the drain now and we’re waiting to see what happens. May need to call it in, we’ll see.

Oh, also on my personnel issue, my dad can’t do an anonymous tip, so I have to go see a manager downtown, he’s setting up an appointment with me. Yay….

So, happy Easter to you all! I just kind of wanted to update you, since I am trying to keep this poor thing going. Oh! And I managed to make a Ron Bohmer fan out of my aunt, go me. I hope you celebrate your Pagan/Christian/Secular holiday in whatever way suits you best! Me, I’m celebrating with cognac and earrings from Lacey, annoying labor, and awesome lamb chops tonight! Awwww yeah!

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doing Battle Against the Mighty Malware

  1. Pingback: It’s Our 100th Episode, YAY! | The Undiscovered Country

Leave a Reply

