If It’s Not One Thing – It’s My Will to Live

Well, we seem to have successfully defeated the Monster Malware. I bought Vipre – doesn’t see to really be doing much, but at least it’s a preventative measure.

…..and now my M key is stuck. So if there’s a missing M in my posts, do forgive me. I’m trying, but I don’t always catch them. Anyone with any advice on how to fix this #$%@#%$#%$# – please let me know.

I woke up at 8 this morning; pretty normal for me, but I went back to sleep and was having some crazy dreams involving amputees and more Tales of Symphonia (not surprising, with how much Chris and I have been talking about it lately) – when my dad called me. By this point it was 9 o’clock, and he’d already emailed me more than an hour earlier, so it was probably a good thing he called. However, being woken up right in the middle of a sleep cycle has my brain kind of woozy today.

Anyway, the purpose of his call was that he made an appointment for me downtown – so HOPEFULLY we can start getting this creep issue resolved. My stress level really can’t take it.

It’s a short update for now, but I’m going to say more tonight. You know, when stuff has actually happened.

Oh! Other than that, finished Kirby’s Epic Yarn, so I’ll get on posting a review of that soon!

…..seriously, fix my f—ing M key.

Well, I went downtown and saw a manager I’m calling A. She was SUPER nice, but my dad hadn’t told her I was a city employee. Once she found out, she said “….I kind of am required to do something about this.” Which is fine by me, because she’s helping me a lot. As she put it, we’re going to work as a team.

So, step one, compile all my emails and lists of problems, which I did, and then she made an appoint for the both of us with HR on Wednesday. It interferes with work a little – but I wouldn’t have this problem were it not for work, so I’m willing to move that around. Anyway, A said I was very brave and glad I was going to do something about this, as too many women chose not to rock the boat so as to get no one in trouble.

Which is natural. I felt that way myself. Women are sort of culturally raised – albeit, unintentionally – to try to be as small and unobtrusive as possible. It’s why we sit smaller and don’t ask for as high of salaries. It’s also why I can’t do what Hanna would do, which is have a big confrontation. But as I was driving to work (which I did not want to go to), I thought, “I have lived enough of my life being afraid. Moreover, I won’t doom some other girl to go through this same hell just because I was a coward.” That isn’t right.

I talked to my supervisor, told him what was going on. He was supportive, but what he said made me feel (unintentionally) guilty. Hanna fixed that. I didn’t start this, I am being the professional here. Work itself was great. I love my Monday student, she is so sweet and smart, and it wasn’t until I was signing out my hours that X popped up and touched my arm that made me freak out. My “flight response” was going crazy. Brooke seemed to get why I went downtown today when she didn’t earlier.

The important thing is that I have someone helping me in this, as well as supportive friends.

Speaking of friends, finally going to see my bud Eric tomorrow morning! We’re meeting up at his favorite coffee house, Greenbeans, and then it’s off to work. Enough of work, though – NOW WE’RE WATCHING POIROT, YAYYY!

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

