Emily, Super Heroine

Not super heroin, mind you, or this blog could take a very ugly turn….

Another busy couple of days. This is a two-coffee kind of day. I got woken up with a text from the east coast at five am. Ugh. Other than that, I slept pretty well.

I had to take Cassie to the vet yesterday, but it was just a routine check-up, ish. Had to do blood work for her thyroid problems, and we wanted her nose checked out. The dumb dog had cut it to ribbons again, only this time on the opposite side, and it just wasn’t healing. So we got her some more antibiotics to shove down her throat (this is nobody’s favorite thing to do, leastwise her’s), but she’s lost some weight and her blood work is good.

Tutoring was also fun – but my student –

….I had to pause in writing this because Cassie threw up on the stairs, and before I could get her out, she threw up on Mom’s new rug. At least the colors kind of matched….my dad needs to stop feeding them so many vegetables, it did not make clean up fun. As if that wasn’t enough, two nights ago I had to clean up after Tasha, ugh….

Anyway, but my student didn’t know who Hitler was. I know, I blame the schools. I also got an email from her mom this morning saying math was still a problem – and that the homework we did had errors. It seems unlikely it was the homework we did just last night, because I only JUST got that email from her this morning. But I did not reply to say that math is not my best subject. AT least we’re having fun, right?

And at least now she knows what World War II was.

Anyway, so after that I went to Lacey’s place for a craft/run around Portland night. I wasn’t so into the running around part, I was tired and wanted to stay put. But I got to watch the end of “Ten Things I Hate About You,” the beginning of “South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut,” and finish that baby sweater. I’ll post pics once I have it on Etsy.

One of the things Dawn and I talked about was working for a non-profit sort of deal, and today I was thinking about starting one. The response was….surprisingly supportive. Hanna agreed to help, and Lee agreed to be my accountant. I wanted to do one that would get prostitutes off the street (those who know my senior research know what a hot topic this is for me), but my friends convinced me of the difficulty of that, and I’ve changed tact to transsexual advocacy.

….not that that’s “easy.” I really don’t know what’s wrong with me, this would be SO hard. But, I believe in the subject, and it needs help. This isn’t a “right away” thing. This is an “at least after my debts are paid off” thing, which actually shouldn’t take too long. I don’t have that much debt, and I have a goodly amount saved up. And getting promoted helps considerably. But it’s a goal to shoot for, and I like that.

Things are going pretty well. It seems like stuff with X is better. Even if it’s not, I’m past the point of it bothering me, which is a relief. I can go back to focusing on my kids. Today is a long day; preschool then tutoring, but I love everyone I’m seeing today, and I think it’ll be a positive day. I sure hope so, anyway.

I hope it’s good for you all, too. And has much less vomit than my week’s had. And pants wetting, had plenty of that, too (not from me, thank you….)

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

