You Make Me Feel Like Spring Has Sprung

Oh, spring. You tried SO hard. Yesterday, you made it downright hot. And what is it today? Cold and wet, wet, wet.

I’ve had a pretty busy week since Sunday, which – to be fair – was hardly even a post. Was that on Sunday? I don’t even know.

Mother’s Day went well. Papa denies this strenuously, but Mom and I both say he was a total crab. He had two nights without sleep, so he was not in the best of moods. He was supposed to be on dish duty, but I ended up doing at least half of them, and made breakfast – scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, and bacon. He helped more after eating and napping, though!

However, being so tired meant he wasn’t up for the symphony with Mom that afternoon, as he’d sleep through it. Which is what most people do at the symphony anyway, but whatever, I went instead. It was fun! The program was “Music for a Time of War” and for my New York peeps, they’re playing at Carnegie Hall tomorrow! For everyone else, it’ll be on All Classical at five (dislike radio? They stream at allclassical.org.) They had some really great composers on the program – Britten, Adams, and (always a favorite) Vaugh Williams! It was his Symphony No. 4 in F minor, so it was very “out of character” for him, but like most of his pieces, you could still hear the defining pieces of “him.”

After that, Mom and I hung out in the bar of the Heathman Hotel waiting for my dad. We people watched, or more appropriately, Mom people watched and I looked at guys. Mm, there was this one valet that was soooo –

Ahem. Dinner soon followed. It was, naturally, wonderful, and Mom was pretty much heaping the praise on when my dad and I went to go get the car from its parking spot and pick her up. Annnnnd, then we were informed of our excessively flat tire. And I mean flat. This thing rivaled a pancake. Annoying? Yes. However, AAA was there faster than expected, so it didn’t end up being that much of a nuisance.

And what did I do with the rest of my week? Work, mostly. Today I got lucky – my tutoring student was sick, so after an exhausting day of preschool, I got to go home. Good thing, too, as Cassie got the whole house up at three in the morning last night. The antibiotics she’s on for her nose are just too much for her; she’s been throwing up pretty much every day, so we need to call the vet tomorrow. Poor pooch. Anyway, I was exhausted, and I had to be in super early to help set up.

Speaking of work, had an unpleasant surprise Friday – one of my coworkers is getting divorced. She was pretty upset, so if you guys could think about her….that’d be cool…

I mostly wanted to update to let you know I wasn’t dead. The big highlights are my work on my new child’s sweater (I know, I should take a break, but I can’t stay away. It’s a sickness, really), and the INSANE amount of awesome plotting Chris and I have been doing for our Symphonia/Pokemon crossover. Perhaps even more exciting is that Cam might be able to mod the engine of HeartGold/SoulSilver to make our insanity actually playable. Oh boy do I hope….

I don’t have anything really insightful to say right now, I’m just too tired. I am going to add a poll though – what would you guys think about me doing a “In My Opinion, Best Movies Ever” list? I was looking at the Modern Library’s list of best English novels and just totally disagreed. As much of a reader as I am (back in those lovely days when I had time), I am not well read enough to compile such a list. But my movie knowledge is not bad, and I will stake my honor on that. So, uh, yeah….take the poll and let me know!

Hopefully more updates when I’m actually awake.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

