What is the Sound of One Hand Clapping?

Last night was my last teen night, thank Heaven – cupcakes. Popular, simple, cheap, shockingly un-messy. Just bought a cake mix and a tub of frosting and some cups, and boom, in business. I was out of there by eight! Hooray! So it was a good end to a turbulent year.

On that note, I also found out I am for sure having my teen crafting class, but not until Bastille day (July 14th, for the non-francophonic in the audience) and then only until August 19th. But hey, at least I’ll have a budget, and a dedicated group! That’s going to be a major improvement.

I only had about two people dedicated to the cupcakes last night, one of whom I don’t think could be more then ten. The craptastic oven, by the grace of God, actually worked (better than our oven does), and I put in the timer for twenty minutes. So the kid asks me, “How long will they be?”

“Twenty minutes.”
“How long is twenty minutes?”

I had kind of two reactions. The first – which obviously I didn’t say – was “What do you mean how long is it? It’s twenty minutes.”

What I actually said was a mix of educational and existential. Ish.
Educational: “Okay, see that big hand? When it gets to the five, they’ll be done.”
Existential: “Just go play on the trampoline for a bit, and when you come back, they’ll be done.”

Cause in my head, I was going “Hmm, yes, how long is twenty minutes? If we accept reality as subjective-”

Okay, guys. Give me your comments. How long is twenty minutes? Creative answers for extra points.

For more food for thought: are we walking past the mountain, or are we standing still while the mountain walks? Does a dog have Buddha nature? (Answers for that one below!)

You are assuming there is a difference between Buddha nature and the dog. Though if a dog DOES have Buddha nature, I nominate Cassie for that. (Thank you to Prof. Komjathy for giving me random sayings that no one understands! Best prof. evar!)

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is the Sound of One Hand Clapping?

  1. kurt says:

    How long is twenty minutes? An a mere blink of an eye when with someone you love, an endless ordeal when the loved one is gone.

Leave a Reply

