Repent, Coffee-Spillers!

So, for those who haven’t heard, the world is ending at 6 P.M. tonight (I wonder, is that Easter, Central, or Pacific? Will the world end slightly later for the Pacific Islanders?).

Nay sayers, listen to my testament, for truly do I believe in this. Oh yes, because I already have the proof!

To begin the story, I’m house sitting for my aunt and uncle while they’re in Seaside/Astoria. This is pretty much the only time I’d want to be in Astoria, as it’s the Bicentennial, and it sounds awesome. But I’m here, which is fine! They live in Northwest Portland, so with the lovely weather we’ve been having, I planned to strut around 23rd – but it’s cold today and it’s going to rain. No strutting. Maybe some driving and quick walking.

The cats are actually happy to see me this time, which is nice. The shy one is now used to me enough that he let me pick him up twice without complaining TOO much. They freaked me out at 3 AM, though, making a lot of noise and my brain automatically thought “RAPIST!” Which isn’t as dumb as it may sound, as the front door is currently secured by a dish towel…

Okay, but at least the cats are happy to see me, and hey, even if you wake up early, at least there’s coffee! Only….I couldn’t figure out how to work the pot. It was completely my own retarded fault, and eventually I got it working, but….well, there was a coffee mess. It…..it was a struggle.

So I finally sat down with my coffee, and started trying to move the computer as its cord was caught on the sofa. Only….I dropped the computer. On to my coffee. No permanent damage (yet) but there was coffee all over the rug, and…

But hey, now I have coffee! And the cat’s sitting by the fire and everything is well! Might as well keep upbeat for the nine hours I have left, right? Because I doubt Jesus is going to want me when he comes down to smite all you bitches tonight. Can someone say “Party over here, sinners?” Oh yes. I can.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Repent, Coffee-Spillers!

  1. Pingback: It’s Our 100th Episode, YAY! | The Undiscovered Country

Leave a Reply

