Poem 1: The Most Platonic Romance

I wanted to post something deep this morning. Not quite figuring out anything really worth saying, I thought I’d post a poem I wrote last winter that I still quote to myself. That’s how much I love it.

And believe the title – this is NOT standard love poetry.

How shall we two be cleft apart –
If, indeed, we ever were.
How separate the entwined heart?
Take out the spark, the “him” from “her?”

Or have our hands been linked by thread
From the throne of Marching Time?
Shall I be yours when names are dead –
As truly you are ever mine?

Sweet love, speak on, for I shall hear
As God hears every unsung prayer
In life, in death, there’s naught to fear –
Put out your hand, and I’ll be there.

I know not why our lives took form
Or how, or when, or in what storm
I, not so wise,
Yet realize,
Your outstretched hand shall keep me warm

The world may never understand
Why we travel, hand in hand
What matter it to you and I
For life, and life after we die,
When we walk into that distant land
Tis not beginning, nor the end
In whatever lives we live
This promise now to you I give –
That still you’ll be my dearest friend.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

