Remember the Alamo? Maybe You Shouldn’t.

I was seriously thinking about this at seven in the morning, laying awake in bed. Alamo movies? Bad idea. Let’s look at the flow chart.

John Wayne
|
Good Actor (sometimes. Green Berrets, anyone?)
|
The Alamo – Terrible Film

Dennis Quade
|
Good Actor (I like him, okay?!)
|
Remember the Alamo – Terrible Film
I remember the only time I saw The Alamo. It must have been ten years ago, getting ready for bed in a motel room (one of our many travels). And I remember thinking, even at that tender age, “The hell is this shit?” Though being so innocent, it was probably more akin to “Golly gee, this cinematic picture is rather subpar!”

…..something like that.

Okay, other stuff: Papa’s now working weekends, so today we’re celebrating Father’s Day. He liked the card and mug I got him, and later we’re going driving! We have a good time on our driving trips. Also, I’m making pork cutlets for dinner. And the folks pick up their trailer today, for which they are very excited.

Other news: saw Dan on Friday. Spent WAY too much on video games. Like….way too much. I just try and tell myself it’s an investment. Picked up the new Golden Sun and Sonic Colors, plus Platinum, and we spent the day playing Kirby. Kirby is HARD on two-player! I kind of like that about modern two-player games, though, it requires serious communication. It’s always great to see kids talking through stuff, it teaches good social skills!

….though probably the only children in the world who actually do this are Michael’s, and the rest just scream at each other in frustration and anger.

Speaking of which! Finished the child’s sweater. Gonna see if I can’t get my younger cousin Lily to model it, this one I’m going to probably try and sell. I have shit luck in that regard, but may as well try, right?

Also speaking of children and anger! Camp starts on Monday. That is exciting, but mainly scary. I have to be in at 7:15 every morning for early morning drop-off, and the big problem with that is that I will be HUNGRY. Being tired makes me hungry. So I’ll need breakfast, then a snack, then snack with the kids, then lunch. I am not kidding you, I will eat this much. Gonna have to start stocking the kitchen at work….

Meeting my assistant tomorrow night! That’s right. I have an assistant. How cool is that? Bonus points: he’s a guy. I get to boss my male assistant around. If this isn’t the culmination of my little life, then my life has a lot more awesome in store than I could ever hope for. Weekend will be jammed pack with planning, though. I’ve got the theme camps mostly set, but the morning stuff is very open. And I need to just print out a lot of paperwork, it’s going to be kinda hectic.

Monday morning craft: panting bird houses. I considered saving this for the “Nature Detectives” camp, but….I want to start off on a high note, and I don’t want to keep those clunky things in the art closet longer than I have to.

I think that’s enough for all of you today. I’m off to celebrate almost-Father’s Day!

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

