Quick Thoughts: My Fair Lady vs. Pygmalion

I’m watching Pygmalion on TCM. I know, I need to update about more substantive things, and I will but first!

Pros to Pygmalion:
* Mmm, Leslie Howard….
* The scene deciding to take Eliza on is actually really quick and fun. I was going to complain the pace was a little slow, but that scene is WONDERFUL.
* The characters may be too underplayed sometimes (that and pacing it a common theme for 30s films), but it also makes some scenes less annoying.
*Despite appearing slow, without the music, it does move faster than it does in the musical version.

Pros to My Fair Lady:
* Obviously, cast and singing
* More energy and faster pace
* Take some pages from the 1938, which gave me a huge smile.
* 1938 had some really fun film styles, but George Cukor wins on that scale. Helps to have color.
* Actually more faithful to the original play than the 1938 version.

Later:

Okay, other points to Pygmalion?

DEAR GOD LESLIE HOWARD WAS HOT.

Later still:

Cons: Freddy is truly a fop. I miss Jeremy Brett. But I miss Jeremy brett all the time so that’s fine.

Even later still:
Karparthy is less of a complete creep in MFL. Much more charming, if slimy.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

