More on “Women Behaving Badly.”

Devaluing Rape.

I am reposting this for several reasons:
1. It’s something that isn’t about Cassie.
2. I have many friends who have been raped.
3. I even have a friend who has been wrongly accused of rape.
4. Hanna just loves sociopaths.

And someday I’ll have to tell the story of the “rape that wasn’t” at Hofstra. I started telling it now, but I realized it was shit. So it’ll have to wait for another time, when I’m mentally and emotionally better equipped to write anything at all.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More on “Women Behaving Badly.”

  1. devieros says:

    It was/is a trying and sad event. I hope someone can take this experience and help others through similar issues. Thanks for the repost! (I hope this was a positive review. Eep!) Rape is never something I would condone in a million years and it should never occur, but there are women out there who use the word “rape” for their own selfish means. We need to learn how to distinguish the difference between the actual victims and those who would invoke the word “rape” to cover their poor (consensual) choices.

    • emilydnelson says:

      Awww, thanks for the comment! Yes, yes, saying nothing against you.
      Women who claim a false rape devalue the pain and agony of millions of both men and women and ruin lives selfishly and thoughtlessly. I’m not sure there can be a worse crime.
      Such behavior is monstrous.

      • devieros says:

        Tragically, yes. You hit the nail right on the head. I wanted to believe this friend so badly that it blinded me to the truth of her actions for many months. My first instinct is to listen to anyone who feels as though they’ve been victimized so that I can be of service, but it became so terribly obvious that the claims were false, I couldn’t possibly dignify her claims. Police and investigators wouldn’t even dignify her claims because of her complete lack of prompt disclosure. I hope no one ever has to be put in the position of dealing with someone so out of touch with reality that she would blame innocent men of rape when they simply had no intention of having a relationship with her… and could you blame them for not wanting to date her? Ha! Oy vey… anywho, thanks again! — Mrs. D.

Leave a Reply

