A Quick Thank You

I was going to put this off and gripe about people who don’t realize how special dogs are – but I have had maybe five reactions like that, and so, so, SO many more that are not only compassionate, but also truly touching, that I must list some thank yous here.

To the Nelson Family: the first to check on us and without question the most dedicated. Your frequent emails and touching comments and concerns help heal our hearts in ways that cannot be expressed. Family is a beautiful thing.
To my other aunts, uncles, cousins, etc: It really helps to know that you loved her as well and understand our suffering.
To Chris and Hanna: the most sympathetic friends possible. Hanna, in particular I appreciate you making sure to constantly answer your phone and always be understanding. A person could go a long way without being so blessed.
To Jason: Thank you for getting on with me on Saturday, talking with you always helps.
To Douglas, Lee, and all my many other friends sending condolences: that you care and think of all of us is much appreciated.
To Max: Thank you for checking up on me, and I am looking forward to the cake therapy.
To Mary and Don, and all my other sympathetic neighbors: thank you for the card, flowers, and sympathetic wishes in general.
To my Boss: Thanks for letting me take the afternoon off. I was pleasantly surprised to see that you really understood (just not something you expect at work), and your kindness and help for me always makes me smile.
To Tom: It was great to see you and I know talking with you really helped my dad. Seeing him come home crying hurts, so knowing you helped really helps me as well.
To anyone else I forget: I apologize, but know that I appreciate your help more than you can know.

Today was harder than yesterday, but I’ll stick it out at work the rest of the week, and hope that every day gets a little better. I suspect it will. As Papa said – Cassie was brave for us, so we must be brave for her.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

