Poem 2: Untitled Love Poetry

You want a love poem, huh? Not a platonic one, a REAL love poem? You got it.

Feel free to suggest a title.

I know, dear heart,
The love I bear thee be not love.
Yet what other name be the dart
That stick so deeply in my soul?
I am not whole
Without you

The love I proffer thee, I know,
Be but deep devotion,
And unbound emotion,
Yet even so-
Could that make it no less true?

So much would I love to say
In two months from my memory you’ll go
And yet all year and every day
The answer is, as always, “No.”
That is the girl that I have never been-
To stop such love when finding that I could not win

When I close my eyes, ’tis yours I see
How should I make this cease to be?
I love you for the love that I might give
Adore you for the promise I might live

I know in this your heart is firm-
You love me not, and never will
Without cessation, I love thee still.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

