Yay for Consumer America!

Because it would be wrong to talk about America’s faults without also talking about the joys of our shallow, spend-crazy culture.

Heaven forbid I am ever called someone who goes through watches, as I am of the opinion I treat them very well, but I’ve had a tough year for watches. (What followed was a lengthy history on my last three watches, and then I realized – no one is going to give a shit. So consider it deleted for everyone’s health and happiness).

My long-awaited new leather one from 4m Leather Designs on Etsy finally arrived today, so enjoy a picture! (Been realizing I don’t put up nearly enough pictures)

What do you guys think? A little butch, I know, but all my femme ones kept breaking. Here’s a sturdy piece of badassery! Leather needs to be broken in a bit, though, parts of it sorta rub my wrist.

Speaking of leathery badassness, some of you may recall my post mentioning Christopher Hitchens, a man I admire for his intelligence, his accent, and that in spite of being an overweight alcoholic who smokes like it’s going out of style, his wit and verve make him hotter than hell. (Luckily for the little shred of respect my friends still have for me, he is married. So we’re safe.)

Anyway, I was out with my aunt at Lloyd’s Center today, and just for fun, she invited me to browse Barnes and Noble. I swear I’m trying to save money to finish paying off my debts, so I really had no intention of buying anything. God obviously thought differently, because IMMEDIATELY upon walking in, I spotted that round face and shouted “CHRISTOPHER HITCHENS!” I know this man is a prolific author, but I SWEAR I’ve never seen any of his work in stores before (because I haven’t looked, not because it isn’t there). So this was clearly a call from the God he does not believe to exist. AND it was 20%, which appealed to the tightwad in me. I didn’t even care that it was original $30 which is an amount I would NEVER spend on a book unless I really, really, really needed it. And I mean need it.

Obviously, I needed this book.

And upon taking this picture, I would also like it to be known that I clearly need practice with all those narcissistic shots those girls on Facebook seem to do so well, because this took me at least five tries. Five tries laden with salty language, which I’m sure Mr. Hitchens would appreciate.

GO AMERICA! Where I can ignore my debts for just enough time to buy needless shit I won’t read for at least FIVE YEARS.

Did I mention this book is almost 800 pages.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

