Yay more dog problems – Update I

(Transcribed directly from an email I sent Hanna and Chris. Decided I may as well post it here, too. And I’m not taking out the swearing, because damn it it is four am and my dog is sick.)

Cleo woke me up at 1:15 with vomiting. She didn’t eat anything since nine except a dog treat, so it was only bits of that plus yellow liquid and foam. My major concern at the time was “Oh goody, it soaked straight through the sheets…” since, you know, dogs vomit and whatever.

Well, fifteen minutes ago she was heaving again, and this time only had a pile of foam. And since everything is “ZOMG CANCER” for me now, I called the animal hospital. For fuck’s sake, why does this have to happen when I’m alone in the house. She went right outside again like a good girl, and wouldn’t come back in until I wiped the foam off her face, that’s mamma’s little girl.

So I called the animal hospital, cause she was just mopey enough for me to not want to wait to call the vet in the morning. Since she was having no problem getting comfortable (she’s on the floor now, eyes closed) – I decided to wait. I’m starting to calm down now as she has her sleepy breathing, not “Mom help me I feel awful” lethargy. So I’m starting to chill a bit…

If it’s cancer, I’m going to be so pissed.

Well, Cleo made it through the night to be her wag-tail self in the morning, bright-eyed and demanding belly rubs. She was also herself in that she protested being fed nothing but her standard dry food (someday, I am going to break that spoiled dog). I called the vet to be on the safe side, and they thought that maybe she’d contracted a bug. Their advice?

Cleo gets to be the luckiest damn dog in the world today, since she gets bland foods like rice and chicken. Which she LOVES.

I don’t have any chicken on hand, but I dutifully cooked up the whitest rice I could find (texmati). Cleo was so determined to eat it I could hear her making little retching sounds – it was too hot for her and the stupid thing wouldn’t wait for it. So I took it away for a second and then she got it back after it had cooled a little more. She’ll get small servings of this for at least the next day, possibly the next two.

Best part? Damn dog STILL doesn’t have to eat her dry food. My little punk has all the luck.

I kid. She’s the sweetest. I’ll make sure to post some more pictures and do ones of her.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

