You Should Have Seen This Coming

Pretty girl, I never really can come to terms with the fact you’re gone. I see your fuzzy face everywhere, and I see all the things you would have loved. I see the toys you aren’t playing with, the greetings you aren’t giving me, the wail’s you’re not wailing.

And it’s easy to say you were – of course – just a dog, but if you were just anything, then two months later, we wouldn’t be in tears at the thought of you. And all of us are. But you would have known that, because you were my little smarty.

Should a human be half so beautiful, warm and intelligent as you, they would be impossibly perfect. So I must content myself with the nine years we had together; the love you gave me; and the lessons you taught me.

For gone or here, you are always my own sweet girl.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Should Have Seen This Coming

  1. kurt says:

    I found it and it made me cry

Leave a Reply

