Super Adulthood – I Have a Job!

I was officially hired for the job I was filling in for at St. John’s. This is, obviously, an excellent thing, and it pays exactly what I hoped, which is also excellent.

However, it is only 12 hours a week. This is most not excellent.

There is a silver lining. I SHOULD be getting another 20 hours a week there soon, which would be enough for me to live on, and if we can drum up interest, a Tuesday/Thursday class, which would also help. Luckily, my AMAZING boss at Montavilla (the one who recommended me for the job and sent them my resume and cover letter), is more than happy to give me some extra hours in the interim, so while I’ll have to brave the commute for a while, I may be able to move out on my own soon.

Which, naturally, is scary. But I was thinking about things that scared me last night and finally shouted/mumbled into the darkness “You know what? I am SICK of being scared of all this stuff. I am done with it. I’m going to go in and grab that job because I deserve it! And I won’t be scared of the future!” And it seems to have worked, so that’s good!

Housing is challenging to find, but I have a few prospects I will pursue as soon as possible. In the meantime, though, I’ll have to deal with my hour-long commute and save up what I can! I’ll let you all know as soon as something happens!

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Super Adulthood – I Have a Job!

  1. Congrats on the job. I hope the extra hours come soon.

Leave a Reply

