Jaw-Dropping Stupidity

As transcribed from my conversation with Chris. Yes, this happened to me not an hour ago.

So my bank is on this really busy street, okay?
And as I’m pulling into the parking lot, I see this tabby cat headed straight for the busy intersection. So I’m able to grab it and go inside and all the county animal services, who put me in touch with the owner. It’s a friendly cat, but by then it’s pretty much had enough of me and is wriggling all over the place and trying to get out and even gives me a nice scratch on the face.
Not bad, but it’s pretty large. So they connect me with the owner.
“Hey.”
“Uh, hi….I’m at Belmont and 31st and I have your cat.”
“Yeah, you can just let him go.”
“….huh?”
“It’s not really my cat, it’s my wife’s and we’re getting a divorce.”
“Oh, I’m sorry to hear that…”
“Yeah, and we keep the cat out because it’ll just pee all over everything, but we don’t take it to the shelter cause they’d just put it down.”
“….do you want me to just keep the cat?”
“No, I don’t want you to keep him, did you take him home?”
“No…”
“He’d pee all over your stuff. So you can just let him go.”
“….okay…..” Which the cat was totally happy with, and I felt stupid, which is unfair, because I was doing a good thing! That cat is going to get killed wandering around the middle of the city!
If you’re going to let the cat wander around in such a busy area, you shouldn’t have him! It would be BETTER to send him to a shelter so he doesn’t get flattened or diseased or tortured by some jerk! IF you don’t want the cat, why didn’t you just let me take him, you asshat!

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

