It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

“Protect Marriage Oregon” made the mistake of sending a pamphlet and a request for money to my house today. And in case you didn’t notice, through the pure happenstance that is my life, most of my friends are homosexual, and not a few of them are in wonderful marriages (because it isn’t shmarriage), raising wonderful children.

So first I ripped up their “facts” pamphlet as I began seeing red, with such classic gems as “They want you to think gender doesn’t matter in marriage/education/parenting, BUT IT DOES! IT’S TAKING AWAY OUR RELIGIOUS FREEDOM (because the freedom to deny others their freedom is apparently sacred).” But I was still too mad.

This was actually addressed to my parents, but as a joke, my father handed it off to me. This might have been a mistake. Because I got out their self-addressed stamped envelope and ripped off their donation slip. And on it I wrote “Don’t you dare ever write here again you homophobic, bigoted, thoughtless people. I wouldn’t give you money to piss out a fire. – The Nelson Family.”

And while I go off and mail it, have a bit of Christmas humor, speaking of families!

I love Mitchell and Webb, and this is one of their absolutely brilliant sketches. (I apologize for the poor quality, you can see it better if you look up the full episode.)

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

