Books You Kinda Wish You Didn’t Own, But Sort of Want to Keep

Hey, guys. I was musing on this just now and thought I’d get your response.

Maybe two years ago I picked up a book off the sale rack at Barnes and Noble called “Emperor: the Gods of War.” I am a sale rack NUT. For one thing, my dad has raised me to be a cheap, cheap bastard, but a cheap bastard that loves books, so the low prices appeal to me. For the other, you can sometimes get odd little gems there that you might never otherwise have picked up. Here’s a list of examples!

* The Red and the Black by Stendhal (I liked it, but it was so freaking weird)
* Various cheap knitting books, but I have to admit that the one pattern for a cozy for your computer monitor is stupid
* The Real Sex Kitten’s Handbook (it had really good self-confidence advice, okay?)

But tonight I went thumbing through that aforementioned “Emperor” book. I’m a junkie for Julius Caesar, and it was $6, so I bought it. But even when I did, I thought “This looks kind of stupid.” Not SERIOUSLY stupid. Not Twilight levels of stupid. But kind of stupid.

And my judgment in briefly flipping through it? Well, let’s say it’s not on par with series like “The Masters of Rome” by Colleen McCullough or the “Kleopatra” duology by Karen Essex. So yeah, it’s a little dumb.

But it got me wondering. What kind of books have YOU bought and afterwards kind of regretted, but not enough to get rid of it? I mean, I’m still going to read it. Eventually. But I get a feeling I won’t be rushing out to pick up the previous four books in the series.

Most of you just email me, but post on here, you tremendous jerks, so I look more important.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

