Where’s the Love?

So I’m finishing my coffee this morning with Cleo at my feet under the dining room table, and I tell my mom, “I’m gonna go rub a dog belly – then check my email – then I’m out of here.”
“Okay.”

So I go crawl on my hands and knees on the living room floor – and the dog doesn’t move. I pound the floor, I call her name, she looks at me – but she doesn’t freaking move! Oh no, Mom’s in the kitchen, so there might be food.

“If you don’t get over here, you’re not getting a belly rub,” I warned her, and belly rubs are Cleo’s most favorite thing in the whole world – besides food.

Apparently I’ve made a tempting enough offer for her to get up – move an inch – and promptly sit right back down again. She only got up when she thought Mom might have food in the kitchen (she didn’t).

I don’t get no respect.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

