More on Writing

(Since you guys seem to like when I do that)

This may be the most care I have taken in story-crafting before. I think that’s almost a more appropriate term in the editing process than writing is, because I’m getting a stronger feel for when things aren’t fitting appropriately, and what is required to fix that. It’s amazing the difference a handful of sentences can make to the smoothness and coherence of any given scene.

I’ve been enjoying this project so much, I’m considering extending it; not this particular work of historical fiction, but maybe a collection of similar stories. I’d have to consider what event or character interests me as much and would suit the fictitious style best. Some people are made for plays, some for novels – some can fit anywhere with the right skill.

But I’ll let you guys read it when it’s done (which should be within the week, if the momentum keeps up), and then you can tell me what you think.

Another pro-tip: if a paragraph is just too darn wordy, especially when it’s meant to be dialogue, read it out loud. Might help you find where the breaks need to be.

Hot damn, apparently I need to do more pieces on writing, I get more “likes” that way than I have on the entire rest of the blog.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Random Stuff, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More on Writing

  1. misscorrigan says:

    Most reading blogs are writers of blogs or interested in writing. You give great advice and probably very helpful to readers.

Leave a Reply

