The Ides of March

I was pretty excited to finish writing and editing the short story I’ve been telling you all about on Tuesday. I thought it especially exciting because I’d had plans to put it on the blog here, and what do you know, today is the Ides of March. How much more fitting could it be?

I’m a little hesitant, though. I’m still debating whether this would work better in serial format, or whether I should just let you download it so it doesn’t clog up someone’s news feed or however it is you read this. I was waiting to hear what some other people thought (mainly my dad), but since there hasn’t been time to really look at it, I’m just going to take a chance and start posting it up here.

Some disclaimers: for now, I’ll just do the prologue, along with author’s note and glossary of terms and appendix. Which does present another problem for serial format; should I be posting those with EVERY section? Well, you can read and decide for yourself. If you do read and have an opinion of how you would like the story to be posted – bit by bit or all at once – do please comment. If you don’t tell me, I’ll never know. Lastly, all characters are historical and not mine, excluding the very brief bar pilot and Amicus the lictor. Gotta have some fun with it. But the rest belong to time, and I tried to portray everyone in a way I found true to the character of how I knew them. I think the rest basically speaks for itself.

But other than that, it belongs to me, and if you steal credit for it, I will cut you. Copyright on creative items like this is fairly straightforward, and so LET IT BE CLEAR THIS IS MY NOTE THAT IT IS MINE, NOT YOURS. Not that I expect anyone is going to be impressed enough to steal it. But if they do, I will be royally pissed. So, “Copyright Emily Nelson, 2012.”

Thanks for reading.

Okay! So it does work, but you have to download it. I’m gonna make it a pdf in that case, sorry, guys. Hang tight….

Alright, at last, PDF. Read this! You’re liking the post before it’s even up!

“Tides of Alexandria” Author’s Note and Prelude

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

