Finally a Substantial Update

Hey Guys.

Life’s been pretty busy lately, and I’ve been promising to update, especially since we’ve now passed our 1 year anniversary. I didn’t do much for it; I didn’t really like the other options for changing up the blog’s theme, but I did change the background image. Since I’m not in New York anymore and it seems unlikely that I’ll be there again any time soon, I thought it time for a change to something more local. Drop a line and share what you think, if you have any strong feelings either way.

A year ago I was assisting in preschool, getting hit on by a boss, making soap and getting ready to direct the Montavilla kindergarten summer camp. I was an un-kissed virgin, living at home with my parents and trying to figure out what the hell to do with my life, and how to get out of college debt.

This year I am teaching preschool, have an okay boss, sell my soap and am getting ready to direct the St. Johns preschool summer camp. I am still an un-kissed virgin, living at home with my parents and trying to figure out what the hell to do with my life. But I’m also out of college debt and have started by Roth IRA retirement fund.

On the surface level, the lack of change between 22 and 23 seems disappointing. But a lot has happened in a year. Let’s peruse:

I’ve grown up considerably, working as a manager and as an adult. It isn’t great, but I’m learning and I do it pretty well. I’ve also suffered a loss, a great big one. One year ago, I still had Cassie. It’s horrifying to think I’ve been able to keep going so long without her, but that’s how life is. so I’ve learned from that loss as well, and continue to move on.

Thanks to Patrick O’Donnel trying to kill Lionel and Kelley in the park, I’ve become pretty close to a lot of my dad’s former rangers, and even had some at my birthday party. I also had my first ER visit with a busted knee.

As to soap (hold on to your hats) – I am officially selling. And I don’t mean on that store you never look at. If you don’t have an Etsy account and live in the Portland area, you can now go to a PHYSICAL LOCATION and buy a limited range of my products.

I’m pretty bowled over about that too. You may be wondering how that happened, and all I can really say is I got lucky. Someone wanted to set up a Portland shop, liked my men’s soap products, and is now buying them from me for retail in their store (in quite a fashionable neighborhood, too). I’m not expecting to make a million bucks. But I’m being recognized, and I’m getting better.

As long as we’re talking about recognition, one of the local theater directors I admire most has started looking at my play “The Sons of Gentlemen.” And not just to be polite – we’ve already met once to discuss it, and I’ve sent him an edited version. I don’t know where it’s going yet, but it IS going, and I can honestly say that’s never happened before. I don’t think it’s possible to overstate how happy I am about that.

I managed to write a full short story and had fun doing it, and was happy with it. In more weighty but WAY less fun news, my dad and I are officially contracted to “write” a book on Milwaukie together. I put write in quotes because they really just want old photos with captions and could care less what the content of said book is. And it’s a REALLY boring project. So I drag my feet and drool as I flip through musty photo books, every fiber of my creative being crying out in protest. That’s why I tell you not to get excited about it, but it’s still something that didn’t happen last year.

I have my share of disappointments, but on the whole, I’ve regarded being 23 with enthusiasm and hope. There are things I thought I might be doing by now, others I could never have dreamed of. Which is another reason I’m not changing the sub-title: everyone is still confused at twenty-two, and that doesn’t change much at twenty-three.

I think it’s very likely that that is something that never changes.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Random Stuff, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally a Substantial Update

  1. Pingback: The Undiscovered Country Quotaganza! | The Undiscovered Country

Leave a Reply

