Problems and Pains

It’s been a while without any substantial updates, though there’s some good reasons why. Last week was the graduation of the preschool class, which was certainly busy and hectic. It’s still strange that I won’t be seeing the kids again, when you spend three days a week with them for six months. I wonder how teachers usually feel about that. This week we’re cleaning up the room in preparation for the summer, which seems to get more and more convoluted every damn day.

But there have been other reasons. On the second, I had to put my cat of fifteen years down. Yes, I had Tasha since I was eight years old. But over the course of two weeks, her behavior became very odd and she was losing control of her bladder. It went downhill rapidly, so that at the end, she was a bony, sad shadow of her former self. It was tough for all of us, but it wasn’t like with Cassie. When it was all said and done, I felt at peace because I had done the right thing. Her life hadn’t been cut short, it had been long and full of love. So what more can I ask for?

The last picture of Tasha and I together.

Yesterday was a tough day for me. The City of Portland seems damned determined to make my life a living nightmare, and it certainly felt like one when I finally got home. Then I got WORSE news. My cousin Andrea and her elderly dog were attacked by a loose pitt bull Sunday night. Woody is a mess, Andrea’s shaken and upset, understandably. You know what, I like pitt bulls. Why do some people have to be irresponsible dicks, not raise them properly, and then not take care to make sure they don’t get loose and ATTACK SOMEONE!? I hate people, seriously.

Woody’s never bitten anyone, and he’s had a tough year of medical problems as it is. I’ll be going to Andrea’s after work today to try to help out and keep her company, so I will let you guys know how that goes after the fact.

So I guess there are a lot of people who could use some good thoughts. I certainly wouldn’t object to them.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

