Perks of the Job

If we’re going to be honest, I don’t really like my job. It’s just so emotionally and mentally draining that it’s hard to be satisfied unless this was your whole life goal to begin with. And it just wasn’t mine.

But, that doesn’t mean I don’t have moments of some kind of joy. No, this isn’t going to be one of those touchy, feely, tear-jerking moments. This is very much on the OTHER side of the scale. Reasons I love my job, if just for their “WTF” ness.

One of my kids came up to me with two boxes on her head and announced she was a “chuffer.”

“A chuffer?” I replied. “A chauffeur?”

I was very quickly corrected by the other members of the class; “She said chuffer.”

“Yeah, I heard that. But I have no idea what a chuffer is, and I DO know what a chauffeur is.”

“What’s a chauffeur?”

“Someone who drives other people around.”

One my class regulars, a not unintelligent boy spoke up with a mildly exasperated air, “It’s like a card shark,” (yes, he said card shark), and to clarify for the other children who were staring at him with wonderment equal to my stare at Box Girl, he added, “You know, someone who plays cards.”

“A chuffer is a card shark who has two boxes for hats?” I repeated, and this was basically agreed upon.

Obvious, right?

I HAD to doodle out this moment, right there on the paper I put down to protect the table/give the kids something to draw on that won’t take thousands of sheets of paper for a single squiggly line. This was the result.

With this level of skill, it’s amazing I didn’t go into art instead of child care.

Scribbling this out might have been a mistake, however, as Box Girl and her closest cohort started immediately demanding I draw them, and also my dog.

I was able to hold my ground after the hasty sketch of Cleo. Mostly by being an irritable monster to five year olds.

I may not make much money. Or have insurance. Or days off. Or a commute that’s less than an hour. But damn it, the executives on Wall street may NEVER know what a chuffer is. And I will.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perks of the Job

  1. Kurt says:

    Every job has its good points (and bad), but kids provide some of the richest rewards–and greatest demands.

  2. Pingback: The Undiscovered Country Quotaganza! | The Undiscovered Country

Leave a Reply

