I’M MOVING OUT!

Well, guys, it’s finally happened! I’ve been offered a job at the school I’d been applying to in Virginia!

That’s right. Full time, benefits. Slightly less than I’m making now but its full time with benefits and the cost of living is lower there, so who cares! Also a likelihood I’d be promoted after a year.

It’s a mix of scary and exciting and happy and sad, yes. I’ll miss my parents, I’ll miss some of my friends, I’LL MISS MY DOG! But I’m really happy, because after much thought, this is what I wanted. I wanted to get out of the house, I liked Virginia decently, and I really liked being with Hanna. And I liked his dog, too. I gave my two weeks notice to work, and they are PISSED, but whatever. They way they’ve been jerking around the preschool program, I don’t know what they could expect. And they don’t give me full-time OR benefits, so they do it to themselves.

It’s a lot to take in and to do, but I’m not really feeling stressed yet. More….annoyed. Annoyed that I’m getting my wisdom teeth out Thursday, since that makes it inconvenient, annoyed that I still have to go to work (though I’ll miss the kids), and a little torn about our upcoming camping trip. I could probably use the time to pack, but it’ll be my last chance to do this with my parents for a while, so I’d better make the most of it.

…it’s a little strange. Usually I’m terrified before big changes in my life. Perhaps I just don’t know enough yet, but I’m not scared. I felt like I’d prayed about this so much….it was just a matter of time. The universe has finally opened the door to me, and so I cannot waste any time in walking through.

Soooo…..I guess I’ll have a super sale in my Etsy shop! I’ll get that posted once I know more of what’s going on. And I’m….happy.

I actually didn’t think I would be able to say that.

And it’s a wonderful thing. To be calmly and quietly….happy.

Let’s all smile, even if it’s sometimes bittersweet.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’M MOVING OUT!

  1. Pingback: The Undiscovered Country Quotaganza! | The Undiscovered Country

Leave a Reply

