First Virginia Update

I know you guys have been waiting for an update from me since I left two weeks ago, and so here is one, at long last. I’ve been pretty busy, and when I WASN’T super busy, I was resting up. But I’d like to give a brief overview of what’s been going on in my life.

1. Dear God am I broke. My savings are under $1,000 (and well under, too) for the first time in, I don’t know….maybe three years? It’s a sad sight to see, but I’ve got a new bank account with a local bank in the area, and a week from Friday I’ll get paid. That’ll be nice. Especially since I’m going to be buying plane tickets home for Christmas soon. Only for four days, but it will NOT be cheap.

2. How do I like Virginia? So far, so good. Hurricane Sandy has hit us, and I got sent home early from work because of it, but at the moment it’s nothing I haven’t seen on a particularly wintry day in Portland. I got sent home early because our attendance was so low, because the storm is supposed to get worse in a few hours. I could use the money, obviously, but I wasn’t about to complain either. Richmond is also a lot smaller and more rural than Portland. For how green PDX prides itself on being, there’s WAY more trees here just because there’s more open space. It can be really beautiful. I regularly drive past cows on my way from hotel to work, and I kinda like it that way. Gas is far, far cheaper, but the speed limits are so much higher I’ll probably be coming out about the same from how often I’ll need to fill up. The James River is also beautiful. It’s not like the Willamette or Columbia at all (though the Columbia still takes the prize in my book). Huge, flat rocks in the middle of the river, with islands of trees. It’s just so flat and placid and…beautiful. That might be my favorite part so far.

3. I mentioned I was staying in a hotel. My first one was cheap and near to work, but can be “affectionately” referred to as Satan’s Rectum. The towels, sheets and walls were paper-thin. So much so, in fact, that on my first night I could hear the neighbor(s) having awkward, awkward sex through it. It also reeked of smoke, I couldn’t open the window or blinds as I was on the first floor and there was no screen to deter burglaries, and I couldn’t turn on the heater or the smoke alarm would go off. Luckily, no bed bugs. That was my primary concern. But the final straw came when I was awoken at 6:30 in the morning to the sounds of a would-be domestic assault. So I had to take my knocks and painfully shell out $1k for this much, MUCH better place.

I say that – but you know what happened when I got home from work early today? An entire police squad was in my hallways. For HOURS. Including a forensics team. And I’m pretty sure I talked to the lady whose hotel room they were pawing through. I’m thinking murder.

But at least I get free coffee.

4. I’m not set on work just yet. I work with preschoolers, but also spend time with a before-and-after-school program, and I think I like that better. Maybe I am just tired of preschoolers or can more greatly appreciate older kids? I solidified my place there when I started talking Pokemon with the kids (there’s a LOT of card collectors there), and then they started fighting over who got to sit next to me on the bus. That’s right. At last my popularity has been achieved – just, you know, ten years after the fact. So I like the teaching, and I like my coworkers, but I DON’T like the spoiled parents and the uptight management. Not that I don’t understand it. When you’re a private company, you need to play to your clientele, especially when they’re rich and demanding. I just….don’t really fit in that kind of environment. But I’m working hard (really, REALLY hard), and doing my best, and that’s all that can be said.

So my days pass without much note. I’ll be out of this hotel on Sunday, and boy am I looking forward to my paycheck. I HATE being broke, it makes me nervous. I’m also looking forward to being home, as this move has made me realize how valuable home is to me. It was a really hard adjustment for a long time. Yet even so, I cannot go back. I refuse to give up and run home with my tail between my legs. I need to show myself I can be an independent adult, and I’ll never do that sitting comfortably with my parents. This may be tough, it may not be huge buckets of fun – but it’s about growing up. And I want to do that. I want to make myself be brave and tough and do that. Otherwise, how can I respect myself? And I think that’s the most important thing of all.

I do hope you guys miss me a little, but not too much. Thank you for your patience. I hope to be bombarding you with stuff I’m making in a month or so, and if things get worse with Sandy, I’ll be sure to update that as well. I’ll sign off there, as I need to go make Hamburger Helper for dinner.

Hi ho the glamorous life!

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Virginia Update

  1. Anonymous says:

    You hope we miss you a little? why not, we miss you a lot!
    Love papa

  2. Pingback: The Undiscovered Country Quotaganza! | The Undiscovered Country

Leave a Reply

