Frosted Windowpanes

Snow on a tree in Virginia that still has Christmas lights up.

Snow on a tree in Virginia that still has Christmas lights up.

This was the view from the house last Thursday night. We’ve had just enough snow off and on for the last week to close schools (but not work, as we take in the kids when they’re not in school), and make driving a little tricky. In fact, it’s supposed to snow tonight.

I visited my new doctor last week for the first time; it was a forty minute drive through winding country roads on a cold, clear day, and for a little bit, I was absolutely in love. The beauty of the trees with their brown leaves still clinging to branches as they bent gently over the small, remote road was absolutely stunning to me. I thought, “Yes. This was the right choice. I want something like this.”

The magic was quickly lost as I left the more affluent farms and saw small mobile homes with steel Confederate flags attached to tall, blue poles. I then reconsidered the history of the land; that the country homes I was so admiring were once the work places of an abused people, and I felt quite sick at myself for being so easily influenced by the scenery.

Once again, I do not seem to know where I truly fit. But, despite frequent moments of doubt, I do still have a niggling feeling that this may have been the right choice to make for me.

And I think it’s important to be aware of life’s moments of beauty, like the picture above.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frosted Windowpanes

  1. Duncan McEwan says:

    Stumbled on your blog last night while searching for a quote and ended up reading all the way to 2011 and 3am. You should be writing for a living …

    • emilydnelson says:

      Thank you so much! The validation is certainly appreciated as I struggle with the doubts plastered all over this blog. I am so happy you enjoyed it that much (and hopefully you found the quote you were looking for).

      • Duncan McEwan says:

        Thanks, I did find the quote: “The past is a foreign country; they do things differently there.”
        ― L.P. Hartley, The Go-Between. Then, as I usually do, kept digging for other countries. Sometimes seems a shame that of all the possible quotes in English, William Shakespeare and the King James Bible have used so many.

Leave a Reply

