Up-up-up-update!

I talked about ghost stories in this earlier post, and now it really has become one. My aunt Marilyn passed away in the early hours of last Sunday morning. My dad thought it was fitting she passed away during Passover, but mostly the reaction of he and I was one of “….oh.”

I mean, I felt BAD, but in that distant way that doesn’t really effect you; as in hearing about a terrible car crash, or victims of devastation on the other side of the world. You recognize it to be tragic, you may even feel a little sad. But it’s not a personal loss. So it was with my aunt. I actually felt worse to know she was dying than hearing she was dead. I don’t know if she got the card, I never heard back. I don’t know that I expected to. It was just sort of…empty. And it also makes me think of “Nothing,” from “Chorus Line,” but that song involves much more personal feeling than this event does…

For those who are curious, K is still treating me as badly as ever. Apparently because I’m friends with her super work crush (no, it isn’t Hanna); my boss said there’s nothing I can do at this point, so I just try to ignore her and get by with my life….

Life is otherwise just going along…sometimes well and sometimes not. I’ve been playing the new Fire Emblem nonstop for a little over a week now, since I finally have an up-to-date game tech of SOME kind, in this case a really sweet Fire Emblem limited edition 3DS. Oh Lord is it sexy. To make me a bigger nerd, I’m trying another meetup group today, this one on video games, so I’ll be playing Super Smash Brothers Melee for the first time. I’ll be sure to update you if anything exciting happens there.

Otherwise, the days just pass one after another, punctuated by some strange events – which generally get listed here.

Happy early Easter, is all I can say.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

