Country Kitsch

I took a country walk as it began to rain, down to the mailbox with Sunny, an over-sized moose of a dog – who liked to find and devour poop, and when I made her spit it out, she would wag her tail vigorously, and look up at me with an expression of “I love this game, can we do it again?”

A quiet, cool walk down the gravel road, where the neighbor’s three horses stared unusually at us as we passed by. I do not know if it was the dog or my bright blue umbrella, but it caused the youngest – a sprightly bay named Gambler – to come charging curiously up to the fence and watch as I raised and lowered my umbrella, trying to gauge a reaction. He didn’t seem to care about that, but something sent him racing back toward the other two, giving little kicks and jumps as he went. Standing there in the rain, I could watch the Paint, Ranger, go galloping past as well, while stately white Andalusian Galahad simply watched.

The pleasures of living in the country.

A picture of Hanna and Sunny from the end of last year, with Sunny believing herself to be a lap dog.

A picture of Hanna and Sunny from the end of last year, with Sunny believing herself to be a lap dog.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Country Kitsch

  1. Pingback: Dog Kisses | The Undiscovered Country

Leave a comment