Dog Kisses

I’ve talked about Sunny, the Treeing Walker Coon Hound on here previously. What I did not share was her habit of being my fuzzy alarm clock.

My door doesn’t shut well, and Sunny loves to burst right into rooms – this includes the bathroom, where I may be in the shower, or otherwise not disposed to shutting the door, her tail of mass destructive pounding a tattoo as it wags against the door jamb. An old, occasional habit of hers it to push her way into my room in the wee hours of the morning (usually during my one opportunity to sleep in), put her cold nose next to me, and WHINE.

Yeah, I love dogs.

Okay, if I’m being honest, it doesn’t bug me that much. I don’t want to over sleep (less of a danger now that I have to be at work by 8:30), and there are worse ways to wake up than to a fuzzy head and a wagging tail – even if that tail manages to knock everything off my nightstand in its joy….

But today, I had a little time, and I wanted my extra few minutes, dogs be damned. Sunny’s waking me up isn’t the problem; the problem is all the MANY noises drifting into my room from the crowded kitchen. And the family is loud. Sunny wasn’t about to leave, she was too busy hoping to score another candy wrapper from my garbage can – so I just shut the door.

Not so funny when you can’t push a door open, is it, dog?

She whined at first, but then seemed to resign herself to her fate, and I heard not a peep from her as I gave myself another ten or fifteen minutes of rest.

Let me preface this next part by saying Sunny’s never been overly affectionate the way they other dogs are. Oh, she’s happy to get pets and attention, but she’s just as happy wrestling with her canine friends. Her licks are generally relegated to the evenings, when she’s very sleep, and will absent-mindedly lick your arm as you pet her. Lick, not kiss. There’s a deliberateness with kisses she just has never imparted to me.

So when I finally decided to get up and release this massive moose of a dog from her purgatory, I got down on the floor with her and wrapped my arms around her, rubbing her belly and encircling her with a hug. Usually she’s okay with these briefly, then ready to move on.

But today she turned her head and gave me a big, soft kiss right on the nose.

A kiss, not a lick.

As frustrated as I am with my current living arrangements, it’s nice to be cared for by somebody.

Post mark: after releasing her and going downstairs, I found a roach in the kitchen, so judge the balance of the morning as you will.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

