Thinking, Thinking – Counterpoint

I’m reconsidering my position on marijuana.

Those of you who read this will know I feel very strongly against legalization. For some reason, when people find this out, they LOVE to argue with me about it, and usually it’s just a nuisance. If I found out you were for it, I wouldn’t try to badger you into changing your mind, I’d keep my mouth shut and probably, I admit, judge you because I’m just kind of that way. I’m not saying it’s a good thing, I’m just saying it’s a thing. I know most people would say that they’re just trying to “have a conversation” with me about it, but you know how I feel. Arguing with me isn’t a conversation. I’m STRONGLY gay rights, but I’m not going to go up to my slightly-homophobic uncle and scold him about gay marriage. Should I? I dunno. Sounds freaking rude to me.

BUT. My new friend Jacob is a law student, and actually a rather intelligent man, and he didn’t argue with me about the subject – he briefly brought up his point, we both moved on. And….I dunno, I’m starting to come around.

Don’t get me wrong, I still HATE pot: I think it’s smelly, it’s a bad habit, and I don’t think it has any particular benefits, medical marijuana aside. However, I make quite a bit about not denying rights to others, and as the country seems to be moving towards legalization, I begin to wonder if I am denying people in the same ways I scold others for.

This is something that requires more thought, so in this case, I WILL take your arguments (or rather, points), because I have a point of view that has been expressed as malleable, so therefore, go ahead. IF I change my mind, my position would be one of “Hate it, hate it, hate it. But if you want to do it, just don’t be associated with me.”

So….I guess it’s the same on my position with orgies? Eh, you can be ASSOCIATED with me for orgies, just don’t ask me to participate.

Wow. That means I hate pot more than I hate orgies.

I’m not sure what that says about me. I’m going to go with “sexually liberated.”

I talked with my dad about this after writing this blog, and he pointed out an important issue with my current thinking, i.e., worrying about denying rights to others. If the issue is equality under the law then, say, denying marriage to one group of people is unequal under the law. However, NO ONE is legally allowed to smoke marijuana as a controlled substance, and therefore, we are all equal under the law. He figured it would probably one day be legalized and he would accept that as a law, but it didn’t mean he’d have to like it.

Soooo….I’m still not certain how I feel about that, but I think that clears my conscience from “denying” anyone anything they have a right to have.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

