I Think You Might Need a Dictionary

Lesbian Couple Denied Wedding Cake by Gresham Company

Okay, so the above article isn’t anything that’s going to rock the boat. It’s unfortunate, but I’m hardly going to get up in arms about it so long as people are, you know, being murdered for their sexuality. A denial of a wedding cake isn’t nice, but it’s not the BIGGEST deal in the world.

This, however, was the part that made me facepalm:

“It’s definitely not discrimination at all. We don’t have anything against lesbians or homosexuals,” [owner Melissa Klein] said. “It has to do with our morals and beliefs […]”

…..UGH.

Someone else who loves English tell me that hurt you as well. Okay, fine, I’ll pretend to go along with the idea that you are ambivalent towards homosexuals (FYI, lesbians ARE homosexuals, “homo” meaning “same.” [The more you know!]). But you ARE discriminating. Just because it’s from your “moral beliefs” doesn’t change what it IS.

I discriminate against clothing that isn’t my favorite color. Hanna discriminates against french fries that aren’t drowning in ketchup. You discriminate against homosexuals because you’re a dick.

I guess I’d be less ticked about this if A. they used the proper terms and B. they were just honest. Just say, “Yes, I hate non-straight people.” But, interestingly, we live in a society that practices discrimination but has made it socially unacceptable, in general, to be discriminatory in a public fashion. You get the idea of closeted racists from this, people who say “Of course racism is wrong!” but also hold their bags tighter when a black man gets on the elevator. There was a little of that when I lived in Virginia, but I’d say for the most part, people just wore it out on their sleeve, which for me was beyond weird. The few black people I did talk to in my time there (my jobs tended to keep me in affluent areas where this sort of behavior is particularly rife) said they preferred open racism as well. Because at least then you always know what you’re dealing with.

Anyway, this just makes me want to twat the owner of this bakery. Morons.

About emilydnelson

A recent graduate of Hofstra University with a B.A. in anthropology, Emily is like every other twenty-two year old on the planet - trying to figure out what the hell to do now. Follow as she struggles with writing, her social work job, and bopping from coast to coast.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

